max one gap per day, no matter how long

Started by balacco, July 29, 2023, 09:35:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

balacco

Hello, I am preparing the timetable for the next school year. We need each teacher to cover many first hours and many last (=sixth) hour. As a consequence, almost every teacher has a day with both the first and the last hour. Some teachers don't want more than four lessons in that day. FET accomplishes this nicely most of the times. For example: lessons from 8 to 10, a two-hours gap, then lessons again from 12 to 14. This is good. Lessons from 8 to 11 and from 13 to 14 is just as good.
In very few cases, however, FET can insert separated gaps in the same day. For example, lesson from 8 to 10, gap, lesson from 11 to 12, another gap, lesson from 13 to 14. This is very very bad. I would like to see a new option (for all teachers): gaps are consecutive if they fell on the same day. I am new to FET, maybe you have already discussed this idea but I haven't found it on the forum.

Volker Dirr

As a workaround you might add a pseudo activity with duration 2 (so only the teacher, no students. Maybe call the subject "free") and in return you reduce the max gaps per day/week by 2. So the total number of max gaps is still the same.

Liviu Lalescu

Hello, @balacco , and welcome to the forum!

1) If you want a teacher to have activities, mandatory, in certain slots, you can use the constraint activities occupy min time slots from selection.

2) If you want a day to be divided into two parts, and in each part the teacher should not have gaps, you might be able to use the Mornings-Afternoons mode. There are 5*2 days per week and 3 hours per day. Please read the help for this mode (Morocco and Algeria, but you'll use Algeria-style teachers).