Automatic Activity Planning?

Started by Christoph Voelker, May 11, 2019, 03:40:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Christoph Voelker

Hello there,

first of all: Thank you very much for your good work!

I have a little suggestion - or maybe rather a "wish":

I am a teacher at a vocational school (Berufsschule). Here, every four weeks a new "activity planning" and then a new timetable is needed.

I know the "activity planning" (appointing teachers to classes/courses mainly depending on their hour contracts) is a responsible job, which maybe should not be done automatically by a computer but with a lot of wisdom.

But as it is needed every four weeks at our school, I wondered if it is possible to automatically generate some suggestions for this "activity planning". Of course there would have been some constraints, that need to be defined, like:

- individual contracts for each teacher regarding hours/week (workload)
- general approach, that the teachers stay "in their classes"
- every teacher with only one subject in the same class
- some teachers may only be appointed to "lower" courses
- some teachers may not be appointed to class XYZ
etc.

What do you think? Is that somehow possible?

Many greetings from northern Germany,
Christoph

Liviu Lalescu

Hello, Christoph, and welcome to the forum!

So, apart from the tedious handmade activity planning, did you use FET with success in your institution?

I think that if you have decided on a definitive activity planning, FET will find a better optimized timetable (such as lower gaps number) than if you would create an automatic activity planning and scheduler. But I might be wrong.

There is FET mapr, where a real teacher = a FET room. I hate it, really. Because in some cases it did not produce useful results. Because it is difficult to work with. Because it is old. Because each time I use it I need to read again its documentation, as it is difficult and I forget how to use it.